November 9th: STAGE 4 – VILA VICOSA – BEJA – ESTOI – Awards ceremony

November 9th: STAGE 4 – VILA VICOSA – BEJA – ESTOI – Awards ceremony

Today, fourth and last stage. Departure from Vila Viçosa from the huge square of the sumptuous Ducal Palace, former residence of the royal family. Impressive scenery to see all these great vehicles, going one by one, under the starting arch.

The sun is very present, which gives a particular light to this last day and makes everyone happy and in a good mood. No major difficulties announced, crews leave the vast region of the Alentejo, country of the cork oaks, to head to the southernmost part of Portugal: the Algarve region.

After about fifty kilometers, discovery of the largest artificial lake in Europe, Lake Alqueva, huge stretch of water of 250km2, which looks like a real internal sea.

First CP, at the foot of the small medieval town, all white, Monsaraz, and first round of questions over a coffee break. The atmosphere is joyful, the competitors take a little time to visit the castle and walk in the narrow streets, lined with small white houses painted.

Lunch is planned 100km further at the Pousada de Bejà, in a former Franciscan convent, the panoramas to get there are breathtaking, the horizon seems far away.

At the end of this picturesque lunch, we had to leave these large expanses of the Alentejo, and take a south-facing road to more hilly landscapes, lined with hundred-year-old olive, figs and lemon trees, an ideal terrain for organizing the last special stage of the rally.

The roads are winding, they rise, descend and follow a relief allowing beautiful sequences of great curves, giving pride to drive, and this, to the delight of our drivers and co-drivers.

Then come a last CP, and a final test of regularity to freeze the overall classification, before arriving at the Palacio d ‘Estoi, a small town 10 km north of the beaches of the Algarve, a small pink Rococo style palace where will be this evening, awarding with cups and various prizes the many winners of this second edition of the Portugal Tour Rally.

In the Classic category, after a meteoric rise in the third round, the PARADA & COSTA crew takes the No. 9 Porsche 914 2.0 to the top of the podium. CARUGATI & MERMOD, on Ferrari Dino 246GTS, take second place with a well defended 2nd place against the brilliant recovery of the BOEDT couple on their Alfa-Roméo Duetto who completed the final ranking.

On the Prestige cars side, METZ & METZ confirm their 1st place and win the 2018 edition at the wheel of their Porsche Cayman. As throughout this rally, they were followed by the Porsche 933 crew MEZIANE & CHEMAO, who climb on the 2nd step of the podium after having fought hardly all race long. BORDIER & BORDIER in Ferrari 488 GTB take 3rd place and complete this top trio of the prestige category 2018.

General & final ranking

Classic category
● 1 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 2 – CARUGATI Tiziano – MERMOD Sonia / Ferrari Dino 246GTS
● 3 – BOEDT Franck – BOEDT Anne / Alfa-Roméo Duetto
Prestige category
● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – MEZIANE Reda – CHEMAO Zineb / Porsche 993
● 3 – BORDIER Bruno – BORDIER Béatrice / Ferrari 488 GTB



On Wednesday night it was the group “Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra” that made the whole rally of Portugal Tour dance. They came loaded with traditional cupcakes from the area.

Posted in Actualités.

Vendredi 9 Novembre, ETAPE 4 – VILA VICOSA – BEJA – ESTOI – Remise des prix

Vendredi 9 Novembre, ETAPE 4 – VILA VICOSA – BEJA – ESTOI – Remise des prix

Aujourd’hui, quatrième et dernière étape. Départ de Vila Viçosa depuis l’immense place du somptueux Palais Ducal, ancienne résidence de la famille royale. Image impressionnante que de voir tous ces superbes véhicules passer un par un, sous l’arche de départ.

Le soleil est très présent, ce qui donne une lumière particulière à ce dernier jour et rend tout le monde heureux et de bonne humeur. Pas de grosses difficultés annoncées, les équipages quittent la vaste région de l’Alentejo, pays du chêne liège, pour se diriger vers la partie la plus sud du Portugal : l’Algarve.

Après une cinquantaine de kilomètres, découverte du plus grand lac artificiel d’Europe, le lac d’Alqueva, immense étendue d’eau de 250km2, qui ressemble à une véritable mer interne.

Premier CP, au pied de la petite ville médiévale, toute blanche, de Monsaraz, et première série de questions autour d’un café. L’ambiance est joyeuse, les concurrents prennent un peu de temps pour aller visiter le château et se balader dans les ruelles étroites, bordées de petites maisons blanches peintes à la chaux.

Le déjeuner est prévu 100km plus loin à la Pousada de Bejà, dans un ancien couvent franciscain, les panoramas pour y arriver sont à couper le souffle, l’horizon semble très loin.

A l’issu de ce déjeuner pittoresque, il a fallu quitter ces grandes étendues de l’Alentejo, et prendre une route plein sud vers des paysages plus vallonnés, bordés d’oliviers centenaires, de figuiers et de citronniers, terrain idéal pour organiser la dernière spéciale du rallye.

Les routes sont sinueuses, elles montent, descendent et suivent un relief autorisant ainsi de belles suites d’enchaînements de grandes courbes, faisant la part belle au pilotage, et ce, pour le plus grand plaisir de nos pilotes et co-pilotes.

Interviennent alors un dernier CP, et une dernière épreuve de régularité pour figer le classement général, avant d’arriver au Palacio d’ Estoi, petite bourgade à 10 km au nord des plages de l’Algarve, petit palais rose de style rococo où seront ce soir décernés coupes et divers prix aux différents vainqueurs de cette deuxième édition du Portugal Tour .

Chez les « Classic », après une remonté fulgurante lors de la troisième épreuve, l’équipage PARADA & COSTA emmène la Porsche 914 2.0 n°16 sur la première marche du podium. CARUGATI & MERMOD, sur Ferrari Dino 246GTS, auront bien défendu leur 2ème place face à la brillante remontée des époux BOEDT sur leur Alfa-Roméo Duetto qui complètent le classement final.

Du côté des prestiges, METZ & METZ confirment leur 1ère place et remportent l’édition 2018 au volant d’une Porsche Cayman. Comme tout au long de ce rallye, ils furent talonnés par la Porsche 933 de l’équipage MEZIANE & CHEMAO qui montent sur la 2ème marche du podium après avoir combattu chacune des épreuves 2018 pied à pied. BORDIER & BORDIER en Ferrari 488 GTB arrachent la 3ème place et complètent ce trio de tête de la catégorie prestige 2018.

Le classement général final

Catégorie Classic

● 1 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 2 – CARUGATI Tiziano – MERMOD Sonia / Ferrari Dino 246GTS
● 3 – BOEDT Franck – BOEDT Anne / Alfa-Roméo Duetto
Catégorie Prestige

● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – MEZIANE Reda – CHEMAO Zineb / Porsche 993
● 3 – BORDIER Bruno – BORDIER Béatrice / Ferrari 488 GTB

Mercredi soir c’est le groupe « Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra » qui a fait danser tout le rallye du Portugal Tour. Ils sont venus les bras chargés de petits gâteaux traditionnel de la région.

Posted in Actualités.