November 7th: STEP 2 – VISEU – SERRA DE ESTRELA – COIMBRA

November 7th: STEP 2 – VISEU – SERRA DE ESTRELA – COIMBRA

It was about fifty kilometers from Viseu that the organization had installed the first CP of the second stage of this Portugal Tour, which particularly reserved us weather surprises. Indeed, fog and drizzle prompted Cyril Neveu, to cancel, for safety reasons, the expected regularity stage, especially since the #8 Jaguar E-Type of “Jardin & Cousin” damaged its hood during a beautiful spin on the wet road of one of the passes of Serra De Estrela.

Past this pass, the road becomes wide although sinuous, the drivers roll at their hand, pleasure is there, the descent is easy enough, the weather improves, the sun peaks, thus allowing to discover fabulous panoramas.

After finding the valley, past the small white village of Manteigas, nestled on the side of the mountain, cars gathered in the heart of the village of Belmonte for a visit to the old castle.

Then 20 kms further, another stop to visit, under a bright sun, among the cobbled streets and small granite houses of the old defensive place of one of the most beautiful and oldest medieval village of Portugal: Sortelha.
As the lunch hour approached, the crews rejoined their cars and stormed the Serra De Estrela back to the town of Covilha. Entry point of the only winter sports resort in Portugal. A lunch was waiting for them in a medieval Pousada.
It was just before this lunch that the Ferrari Dino No. 14 of “Maunoir” gave up on clutch problem as well as the Ford Capri No. 17 due to an electric failure.

After lunch, it is with great surprise that drivers and co-drivers have begun a magnificent descent, in a lunar landscape covered in places with fresh snow up to the Alva Valley and the picturesque village of « Ponte de tres entradas »
To note, a change of sparks for the Mercedes Bentz 300 SL driven by the crew « Murith & Murith » .

For the last regularity event of the day, CNP had chosen a piece of the legendary route from the former world championship rally, located in the region of Cojà and Arganil to drive at 55 km / h during 4.9 Km!
Dinner and rest are now on the agenda at the Quinta Das Lagrimas Palace in Coimbra.

General ranking

Classic category
● 1 – DESTAS Jean-Marc – DESTAS Brigitte / Lancia Monte-Carlo
● 2 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 3 – WOESTELANDT Gérard – VENTURA JOSE / Porsche 356
Prestige category
● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – BURBAN Didier – DROUIN Anne-Laure / Alpine A110
● 3 – REVRET Alain – MOUTON Anne-Marie / Ferrari 599 GTB



On Wednesday night it was the group “Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra” that made the whole rally of Portugal Tour dance. They came loaded with traditional cupcakes from the area.

Posted in Actualités.

Mercredi 7 Novembre, ETAPE 2 – VISEU – SERRA DE ESTRELA – COIMBRA

Mercredi 7 Novembre, ETAPE 2 – VISEU – SERRA DE ESTRELA – COIMBRA

C’est à une petite cinquantaine de kilomètres de Viseu que l’organisation avait installé le premier CP de la seconde étape de ce Portugal Tour, qui décidément nous a réservé des surprises météos. En effet, brouillard et crachin ont incité Cyril Neveu, à annuler, par sécurité, l’épreuve de régularité prévue, d’autant plus que la Jaguar Type E N°8 de « Jardin & Cousin » a endommagé son capot en s’offrant un beau tête à queue sur la route humide d’un des cols de la Serra De Estrela.

Passé ce col, la route devient large bien que sinueuse, les pilotes roulent à leur main, le plaisir est là, la descente est assez facile, le temps s’améliore, le soleil pointe, permettant ainsi de découvrir de fabuleux panoramas.

Après avoir retrouvé la vallée, passé le petit village tout blanc de Manteigas, niché au flanc de la montagne, les voitures se sont rassemblées au cœur du village de Belmonte pour une visite de l’ancien château fort.
Puis 20 kms plus loin, nouvelle pause à pied pour une visite, sous un grand soleil, parmi les ruelles pavées et les petites maisons de granit de l’ancienne enceinte défensive de l’un des plus beaux et plus vieux village médiéval du Portugal : Sortelha.

L’heure du déjeuner approchant, les équipages ont rejoint leurs voitures et sont repartis à l’assaut de la Serra De Estrela, jusqu’à la ville de Covilha. Point d’entrée de la seule station de sports d’hiver du Portugal. Un déjeuner les attendait dans une Pousada médiévale.
C’est juste avant ce déjeuner que la Ferrari Dino N°14 de « Maunoir » a abandonné sur problème d’embrayage ainsi que la Ford Capri N° 17 en proie à une panne électrique.

Après le déjeuner, c’est avec une grande surprise que pilotes et co-pilotes ont entamé une magnifique descente, dans un paysage lunaire recouvert par endroit d’une neige fraîche jusqu’à la vallée de l’Alva et le village pittoresque de « Ponte de tres entradas ».

A noter, un changement de bougies pour la Mercedes Bentz 300 SL pilotée par l’équipage Murith & Murith. Pour la dernière épreuve de régularité de la journée, CNP avait choisi un morceau du tracé mythique de l’ancien rallye du championnat du monde, situé dans la région de Cojà et d’Arganil à parcourir à 55 km/h durant 4,9 Km !
Dîner et repos sont maintenant au programme dans le palais de la Quinta Das Lagrimas à Coimbra.

Le classement général

Catégorie Classic

● 1 – DESTAS Jean-Marc – DESTAS Brigitte / Lancia Monte-Carlo
● 2 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 3 – WOESTELANDT Gérard – VENTURA JOSE / Porsche 356
Catégorie Prestige

● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – BURBAN Didier – DROUIN Anne-Laure / Alpine A110
● 3 – REVRET Alain – MOUTON Anne-Marie / Ferrari 599 GTB

Mercredi soir c’est le groupe « Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra » qui a fait danser tout le rallye du Portugal Tour. Ils sont venus les bras chargés de petits gâteaux traditionnel de la région.

Posted in Actualités.