November 8th: STAGE 3 – COIMBRA – CRATO – VILA VICOSA

November 8th: STAGE 3 – COIMBRA – CRATO – VILA VICOSA

This third stage from Coimbra was designed to privilege at first the pleasure of driving on beautiful hilly roads, before devoting the afternoon to tourism and to discover the rich heritage of the Alentejo region.
Leaving Coimbra, the competitors joined, about 50km away, a mountain pass where the organizers had planned the start of a regularity stage (ERR), all in downhill, on a relatively simple road with an average speed of 55 km / h.
The weather is not at the rendezvous, a thick fog hampers the visibility of the drivers, but the good mood prevails and the 5.9 kms of the stage unfold for the better. The only downside is the retirement of the Murith & Murith’s Mercedes Benz 300 SL #4 crew due to a new ignition problem.

After the CP organized a few kms after the arrival of the ERR, and its questions and coffee break, total change of scenery: finished the sinuous and tortuous roads to find larger spaces allowing higher cruising speeds towards Crato.
Lunch in an incredible pousada built on the site of a 14th century monastery and housing a fortress church, a Gothic style palace and outbuildings converted into a contemporary hotel. Magnificent !

After this lunch break, a new departure and cruising of this beautiful region of the Alentejo towards Castelo de Vide, a charming small village where the participants were able to have a walk, in the heart of the medieval city and all around the walkway of his imposing 13th century castle.
The forty cars still in the race, joined under a pouring rain the neighboring ridges, where awaited the second special stage of the day.
This fifth regularity test proved very tricky, for those who had not studied the roadbook before, 500 meters away after the start, it was necessary to take a left fork. A sudden change of direction, which surprised more than one and rebuffed all the cards of the general classification.

Indeed, the leaders of the Classic category, the Lancia Monte Carlo of Jean Marc and Brigitte Destas, are now in the bottom of the rankings, losing all chances to win after 2 and a half stages in the lead, same punishment for the Porsche 356 AT2 of Gérard Woestelandt and José Ventura who also see the podium move away.
After this special stage where the classification was totally upset, the road is narrow and opens on 180° panoramas, the area is very green, but we feel through the vegetation that the south is not very far away.
The route to Estremoz is easy and everyone is happy, after this afternoon rich in events, to find the city of “Vila Viçosa”, a city made of marble where a new pousada in a convent awaits the competitors for a well deserved rest time.

General ranking

Classic category
● 1 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 2 – CARUGATI Tiziano – MERMOD Sonia / Ferrari Dino 246GTS
● 3 – BOEDT Franck – BOEDT Anne / Alfa-Roméo Duetto
Prestige category
● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – MEZIANE Reda – CHEMAO Zineb / Porsche 993
● 3 – BORDIER Bruno – BORDIER Béatrice / Ferrari 488 GTB



On Wednesday night it was the group “Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra” that made the whole rally of Portugal Tour dance. They came loaded with traditional cupcakes from the area.

Posted in 2017.

Jeudi 8 Novembre, ETAPE 3 – COIMBRA – CRATO – VILA VICOSA

Jeudi 8 Novembre, ETAPE 3 – COIMBRA – CRATO – VILA VICOSA

Cette troisième étape au départ de Coimbra a été pensé pour privilégier dans un premier temps le plaisir de la conduite sur de magnifiques routes sinueuses et vallonnées, avant de consacrer l’après-midi au tourisme et à la découverte du patrimoine très riche de la région de l’Alentejo.
En quittant Coimbra, les concurrents ont rejoint, une cinquantaine de kms plus loin, un col de moyenne montagne ou les organisateurs avaient prévu le départ d’une épreuve de régularité (ERR), tout en descente, sur un parcours relativement simple avec une moyenne imposée de 55 km/h.
Le climat n’est pas au rendez-vous, un épais brouillard handicape la visibilité des pilotes, mais la bonne humeur l’emporte et les 5,9 kms de la spéciale se déroulent pour le mieux.
Seule ombre au tableau l’abandon de la Mercedes Benz 300 SL N°4 de l’équipage Murith & Murith à cause d’un nouveau problème d’allumage.

Après le CP organisé quelques kms après l’arrivée de l’ERR, et ses questions et sa pause café, changement de décor : fini les routes sinueuses et tortueuses pour retrouver de grands espaces permettant des vitesses de croisière plus élevées en direction de Crato.
Déjeuner dans une incroyable pousada édifiée sur le site d’un monastère du 14eme siècle et abritant une église forteresse, un palais style gothique et des dépendances transformées en hôtel contemporain. Magnifique !

Après cette halte déjeuner, nouveau départ et traversée de cette magnifique région de l’Alentejo vers Castelo de Vide, charmant petit bourg où les participants ont pu se promener à pied, au cœur de la cité médiévale et tout autour du chemin de ronde de son imposant château du 13ème siècle.
Les quarante voitures encore en course, ont rejoint sous la pluie battante les crêtes voisines, où les attendait la seconde spéciale de la journée.
Cette cinquième épreuve s’est avérée très piégeuse, pour ceux qui n’avait pas bien étudié le roadbook au préalable, puisque 500 mètres après le départ, il fallait prendre une bifurcation à gauche. Un changement de direction brutal, qui en a surpris plus d’un et a rebattu toutes les cartes du classement général.

En effet, les leaders de la catégorie Classic, la Lancia Monte-Carlo de Jean Marc et Brigitte Destas, se retrouvent désormais dans les fonds du classement, perdant ainsi toutes chances de s’imposer après 2 étapes et demi en tête, même punition pour la Porsche 356 AT2 de Gérard Woestelandt et José Ventura qui voient eux aussi le podium s’éloigner.
Après cette spéciale où le classement a été totalement bouleversé, la route est étroite et ouvre sur des panoramas à 180 °, la région est très verte, mais on sent à travers la végétation que le sud n’est plus très loin.
L’itinéraire vers Estremoz est facile et tout le monde est heureux, après cet après-midi riche en évènements, de retrouver la ville de « Vila Viçosa », cité faite de marbre où une nouvelle pousada dans un couvent attend les concurrents pour un repos bien mérité.

Le classement général

Catégorie Classic

● 1 – PARADA Eugenio – COSTA Joao / Porsche 914
● 2 – CARUGATI Tiziano – MERMOD Sonia / Ferrari Dino 246GTS
● 3 – BOEDT Franck – BOEDT Anne / Alfa-Roméo Duetto
Catégorie Prestige

● 1 – METZ Antoine – LAIGNEL-METZ Corinne / Porsche Cayman
● 2 – MEZIANE Reda – CHEMAO Zineb / Porsche 993
● 3 – BORDIER Bruno – BORDIER Béatrice / Ferrari 488 GTB

Mercredi soir c’est le groupe « Folclórico de Universidade de Coimbra » qui a fait danser tout le rallye du Portugal Tour. Ils sont venus les bras chargés de petits gâteaux traditionnel de la région.

Posted in 2017.